My first interview.. Probably my last

4 Aug

Two weeks ago a friend of mine had a journalist friend come to visit him. His friend came in on the Nefesh B’Nefesh flight and was there to cover the event for the newspaper The Jewish Standard. The war with Lebanon started and the general mood of the country was one of “war again. When will it ever end?”

He and I chatted at Sugar Hill… and at the beginning of the conversation he took out his trusty notified and started taking notes. I was cool with that. I am very proud of myself and every single oleh here and I love to share those thoughts and feelings. I like to compare Jerusalem with the Upper West Side since that is a point of reference for most single religious Jews living in the States. I wanted to show how it isn’t so different here as it is back in the States. I thought I gave a passionate speech about making aliyah and how amazing and wonderful our community is here.

But then I read his article.

What I was trying to portray was not reflected the way I would have preferred.

Here is a part of the article:

“And while many are now Israeli, they are not native Israeli; most still speak English, and many of those who do eventually master Hebrew never lose their foreign accents, says Berger, sipping a beer.

But hanging on to English, combined with being a foreigner and having cultural differences with native Israelis, has drawn them all to move here, and that makes the group very cohesive, and very open to more of their own, she says.

It’s not uncommon for a new person to meet one Anglo, who will then introduce that person to everyone he or she knows as if they were best friends, says Eli Gurock, the bartender for the evening. That’s what happened to him when he moved to Israel from Passaic four years ago.

The group becomes a de facto support group and a pseudo family, says Berger, who described her first day essentially like this: She made aliyah, got to the country without knowing anyone, found an apartment, and then basically said to herself, “Now what?”

Now what what? What I said was thank G-d when I moved here.. I found a job and an apt almost immediately..but was expecting a lot more of a struggle. I didnt think it would be that easy so my thoughts were “what next?”. Now that I had accomplished my beginnig goals what goals would I want to conquer next.

Anywhoo… this might have been my first interview but I doubt I will ever give a second one. At least not unless I know the journalist and like his or her style. I learnt my lesson (not bad not good but just a lesson) that I need to realize what and how I say it and make sure the person I am speaking to truly understands where I am coming from.

If you want to check out the article in its entirety

Jewish Standard

Leave a Reply

