Shabbat Shalom

1 Sep

Just wishing you all a wonderful shabbat…. a relaxing shabbat.

Past week recap:

*Last time at Selina’s with the girls (as both are no longer living in Jtown anymore and I am now being phased out)

*Went to the little jazz fair off Emek with the intention of just meeting up with friends and ended up buying 2 pairs of Thai pants and 3 really cool plastic (can even fold them up) vases.

*My first Israeli Henna. I have a good friend who is getting married this upcoming week and both he and his fiancee are Moroccan. They had a traditional henna with the clothing, the decor, the food and even the music. I will upload the pictures from the henna when I get them. Here is just a temp henna picture:

*My roomates birthday followed by her birthday party last night. Lots of fun, lots of great friends and friendly new faces.

This upcoming week:

*Sat Night – bachelorette party with yoga, food, and definately a lot of booze.

*Sunday – wedding of a friend from the neighborhood in a far off location. It should be a blast!

*Wednesday- wedding of another good friend (of the past week’s henna). I look forward to seeing a true secular Israeli wedding. Maybe I’ll go in jeans?

*Thursday -Shabbat – hopefully in TA with my girls. I need a nice long and relaxing weekend with good friends, good food and of course… good wine.

4 Responses to “Shabbat Shalom”

  1. ifyouwillit... September 3, 2006 at 9:11 am #

    great party on thurs!sounds like you got a busy week – enjoy!

  2. ck September 3, 2006 at 11:00 am #

    Moroccan Jews rule. Tell me please, how much fun was that Henna?

  3. IsraLuv September 3, 2006 at 1:01 pm #

    I still have the henna mark on my hand and the morroccan music in my head. but ck- could you please explain to me the different meanings behind the henna traditions?

  4. ck September 3, 2006 at 8:27 pm #

    Well what tradition? The henna? The henna dye symbolizes both fertility and protection against the evil eye. Elaborate Henna tattoos mark you as about to be married and that tempts demons to come over and cast spells of infertility and domestic turmoil. Thus everyone gets tats and then the demons are all like “what the fuck? who do we mess up? Aw forget about it. lets get a beer.” Something like that. So? How cool was it? By the way, I put up a pic of your frind on jewlicious on a post about how we should all learn Arabic in Israel. Thanks Ahuva! Woohoo!

Leave a Reply

