Addicted to Israeli Soaps

18 Sep

I am ADDICTED to an Israeli Telenovela called Halufa (The Champions). The show is on every day at 8pm and 11:05pm Sunday -Thursday with the entire week’s recap on Saturday. I love knowing that if I missed the 8pm show I can watch it later on at 11pm.
I come home from work every night excited to see what tonight’s show will revel. If you have ever watched American soaps, it takes months and years for the storyline to ever come to some sort of conclusion. Here every day there is something exciting going on. Every day I know that the show will end on a cliffhanger but I also know that within two days I will see the conclusion of the cliffhanger. I get totally engrossed in what I am watching that sometimes I talk to the TV.

Israeli soaps have a definitive beginning and a definitive ending for the season. These shows do not continue for years and years but rather just one season. When I first made aliyah I worked really weird hours and was home in the afternoon to catch “Michaela” – my first introduction to Israeli Telenovela’s. I started watching in the end of the season and I remember watching the last episode with astonishment- the bad guys had been killed. I was so confused- what happens now to the show? Until I realized that the show was over. I was so disappointed but now I LOVE watching these types of shows. I could care less about the American TV shows that everyone watches.

I walked into a copy store in Jerusalem recently and while I was waiting for my turn I heard the counter girls discussing a character on Halufa and I cracked up. (They were discussing Daria and Jalaal and if they would really get married). I realized it is not just me that is addicted to this show but many others.

Just give me Halufa and whatever telenovela that comes next and I am a happy TV watcher.

5 Responses to “Addicted to Israeli Soaps”

  1. ifyouwillit... September 18, 2006 at 12:46 pm #

    I am a sucker for soaps, half the reason I don’t have a cable subscription!

  2. tafka PP September 18, 2006 at 6:50 pm #

    Hi Sabra,I’m *so* with you on this one! Can’t believe it is all going to end next week… Also, I’m sorry, but you can’t compare Michaella to HaAlufa- this one is far and away the funniest and most entertaining Telenovella we’ve had in years. I’m actually even higher in the sad stakes than you are: I’m going to Ramat Gan on Thurs for the grand finale! (We might actually have a spare ticket- if you want to come with us, email me.)

  3. Avram September 20, 2006 at 5:47 am #

    I was ADDICTED to Miluim, that was about 6 episodes last year and has supposedly began again now … I guess we all have our dirty lil secrets, eh? 🙂

  4. channahboo September 20, 2006 at 11:10 am #

    Gilmore Girls!!!! My not so secret obsession!

  5. Ginrod Isus September 27, 2006 at 8:01 am #

    why do my comments never publish?

Leave a Reply

