Just Get By

4 Oct

Get By Remix by Jay Z, Kanye West, Talib Kewli and Mos Def

Chorus:
……..
This Morning I woke up
Feeling brand new and
I Jumped up

Feeling my highs
And my lows an
My soul an
My goals

Just to get
Just to get
Just to get
Just to get byyy ……..

This song holds a special place in my heart and I now can put my finger on why. I have this urge not to just get by this year. I have never felt this internal hunger not to let a day go by without focusing and working on achieving my goals for this year. This past year has gone by in a whirlwind and I assume this upcoming year will pass by as fast as the previous one. Maybe the urge is due to the tremendously noticeable (at least to me) changes I’ve made over the past year and I just want to continue to grow.
Now those of you who really know me know that I love to make lists and feel organized but I am a very disorganized person at heart. I like to feel in control even when I am not able to be in control.
So the question for this upcoming year is will I be able to focus on not only the long term goals but the daily struggles to take another conscious step in the direction I want to go? Do I make daily lists to feel in control (when typically those lists end up at home and never leave with me?) Or do I make notes as the day goes by on topics that I think I should have handled better? But then what happens to those instances which pass by and I wasn’t paying attention? And is it really realistic to try to micromanage my life like that?
Where is the medium between being conscious of daily behavior towards G-d, friends, family and even strangers? Is there a perfect medium between overly conscious and just getting by? I don’t want to make a list of “New Year resolutions” because I don’t just want to limit myself to only the changes I recognize now I need to make. I could always create weekly, monthly and yearly lists in which I monitor the changes. Hmmmmmmmmm
I just hope that this year I can be a lot more focused on my growth process and that I don’t need to wait until Rosh Hashana and Yom Kippur to reflect back on past year.

One Response to “Just Get By”

  1. ifyouwillit... October 8, 2006 at 3:11 pm #

    Your message rings out strong to me. I am changing gear this year and making certain things happen. If you will it… it is no dream, right?May the new year bring all your goals within reach.

Leave a Reply

