What I miss

19 Oct

Recently the grandparents of a very close friend of mine made aliyah. Grandpa M. did not want to leave his American comforts behind while Grandma A. couldn’t wait to finally make aliyah and be around all her children, grandchildren and great grandchildren. Grandpa asked me before I made aliyah, after I made aliyah, before he made aliyah and even now two weeks into his aliyah what I miss about America.
When I first made aliyah my answer was dunkin donuts cawfee, driving, SUV’s, shopping.

sighhhhhh – shopping. This is the one thing I still miss and will always miss.

I…am.addicted…..to….stylish….shoes….. and the shoe selection here in Israel does not do it for me. Not even at Aldo. There are no Charles David, Stuart Weizmann, D&G shoes here in my neck of the woods. Nor is there a large selection of stylish reliable and sexy shoes here.

There .. I said it… I AM ADDICTED TO SHOES.

I can temporarily manage my addiction until something triggers it. Last night my addiction was triggered by a movie.

Last night a bunch of us sexy chicas went to see “the devil wears prada”. The fashion, the shoes, the makeup,the shoes, the hair, the shoes, the bags, the shoes, the jewelery, the SHOES… sighhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh.

here is a pair of christian louboutin shoes i would have bought last year if i still lived in NY :
Christian Louboutin Platform heels

I have chosen the quality of life here in Israel over the desire to own different materialist objects. But sometimes I get that pull towards shopping and buying and shopping and buying and and and … i just need to remember to BREATHE…. and let the wave of desire to go shopping pass.

I no longer live in NYC … a hub of stylish woman. My life here is not condusive to those gorgeous yet very high heels. I need to walk more than 3 blocks at a time.

But I do buy one pair of impractical shoes every year in the States, to be worn on special occasions.

6 Responses to “What I miss”

  1. Ginrod Isus October 19, 2006 at 3:29 pm #

    Ah yes. The consumerism we have left behind does crawl up when we least expect it. I have given up all luxuries. I make my own underwear from Twill and my bra is simply two paper triangle cutouts held together with string. Shoes?!!? ain’t nothing a small burlap sack can’t dew!!! We moved her for higher level of spirituality, not higher heels. or ..hills..for that matter. damn middle east.

  2. ifyouwillit... October 20, 2006 at 10:58 am #

    Last night I was critisced for wanting to go back to England to buy gloves.And shoes/socks that fit me.Jeans that don’t hug the crotch.England’s got to be good got something.

  3. Avram October 21, 2006 at 11:42 pm #

    aaaah women and their shoes … one of life’s greatest unsolved mysteries …

  4. IsraLuv October 22, 2006 at 3:47 pm #

    shoes always fit and never make us feel fat.that is the unsolved mystery

  5. AGFC President October 22, 2006 at 5:04 pm #

    that is a pretty valid reason but that still doesn’t explain why every women has approximately 5,301 pairs of shoes …

  6. Anonymous November 4, 2006 at 1:00 am #

    well you should try a store on King George st just off sheinkin. the store is called Hamartef and it has a variety od special shoes for affordable prices. Stephan Kelian, tods and many more. good luck…our versionof century 21 😉

Leave a Reply

