Taxi Cab Confessions Israeli Style

17 Jan

Lately I have been riding in taxi’s more often than not. I truly enjoy talking to the taxi drivers. These remind me of the blue collar workers back in the US. Their perspectives on life seem more sabra-esq.

Right before the past snow fall in December the taxi cab driver and I were debating about if it would really snow or not snow in Jerusalem. He shared with me his memories of the big snow in the 50’s when Jerusalem was made up of only a few neighborhoods and not the size of Jerusalem today. It made me start thinking of what will I be able to say in 50 years from now. What will I be able to share with the next generation of sabra’s, olim, etc? Will I be able to share with the future generations the growth I have seen in the country both physically, nationally, spiritually, etc?

Will we even be here? I mean – look at the way the country is being run. The news regarding our leadership is depressing. The head of our armed forces resigns- and not to his boss but to the Prime Minister. Wonder if it says anything about how D.Halutz felt about A.Peretz? And is the correct person resigning? (if you want to see a good post about Halutz check out my friend’s post on the issue.
And we have a prime minister who rode the coattails of an incapacitated Prime Minister to become the “leader” of the Kadima party and shows no leadership or balls that Sharon showed.

But I know that I am becoming Israeli because I now complain about the government with taxi cab drivers. In hebrew.

I have faith our nation’s resilience. But the country needs some sort of motivation to fight for its survival. There are too many citizens who feel that they could just leave Israel when times get tough. We are missing the true Zionistic and prickly “sabra” mentality. To dig our heels into the ground and say the only way to carry me out of here is in a body bag. We are fighting for survival – in the recent years of increased anti-semetisim all across the world. The lessons learned about the Holocaust are starting to fade… the grandchildren of survivors are forgetting how their families ended up here in Israel.

And I want all of us to be able to pass along our cynicism but also hope to our future generations over the next 50 years and beyond. And for that we need true leadership to guide and motivate us. We need to see that fighting for our country is vital.

One Response to “Taxi Cab Confessions Israeli Style”

  1. Avram January 18, 2007 at 7:18 pm #

    you and I are now connected FOREVER

Leave a Reply

