Yom HaZikaron is a very Personal Day here in Israel for Each of us

22 Apr

During the past summer a fellow oleh- Michael Levine, died in battle with his new found brothers.
This Yom Hazikaron (day of rememberance for fallen soldiers)is a day for me to remember him and all he stood for. His actions stood out to me and I look forward one day to sharing his name and his story with my children before they join the IDF.

He was a hero and I will remember him every year on this day.

Below is part of the original post I wrote after finding out he was killed in battle.

May this be the last year we need to hold a Day of Rememberance for our Fallen Soldiers.



When I told all my friends back in the States that I was moving to Israel they looked at me like I was crazy. Now I get emails asking me when am I going to come home.

I am home.

And if I was out of the country I would return home. How could I not be here during a war? Why is it that a lot of us grow up outside Israel do not understanding what real loyalty and patriotism is for our country? You don’t just run when times get bad. You dig your heels in and fight.

That is exactly what Michael Levine did. Michael was an oleh chadash just like me. He came from Pennsylvania and moved here 3 years ago. Michael was able to leave the army a bit early and go to the States to visit his parents. When the war broke out… he came straight back and went to his commanding officer and said I want to come with you and the rest of the unit. To fight in Lebanon.

And fight he did. He fought bravely for his new home. He died protecting his country.

Michael understood love, loyalty and patriotism. He fought and died for it.

And I hope that his parents never stop feeling immense pride in what their son did. Maybe they never intended those life lessons to have such an effect on Michael that encouraged him and gave him the strength to move to Israel. But they did and he chose to fight and died for what he believed in. This man was only a citizen of Israel for 3 years but he died a full blooded Israel.

I couldn’t be prouder of Michael, my fellow American and Israeli brother.

May we all be worthy of having sons and daughters like Michael.

3 Responses to “Yom HaZikaron is a very Personal Day here in Israel for Each of us”

  1. David All August 3, 2006 at 6:04 pm #

    Thank you for this beautifully moving post. Long may Michael along with all the others who have died for Israel be remembered with pride and respect. “They shall not grow old, as we that are left grow old: Age shall not weary them, nor the years condemm. At the going down of the sun and in the morning We will remember them.” A verse from “For the Fallen” by Laurence Binyon that is inscribed on Scotland’s Memorial to her dead in Great War, 1914-1918.

  2. Rafi G August 4, 2006 at 1:52 am #

    were you there? I went to the funeral today.. I put some pictures up on my site..

  3. Avram April 23, 2007 at 6:40 am #

    http://www.haaretz.com/hasen/spages/850742.html

Leave a Reply

