Waiting on the World to Change

30 Jul

In the early 2000’s I went to university to become an interpreter for the Deaf. I had a profound professor called Alec Naiman, who taught me some very important lessons. The most important lesson I learned from him is that it is not for me to define others rather for them to define themselves. I miss the Deaf community (notice I use a capital D) and their culture. There are moments in my life here in Israel that I am reminded of those sweet days where my hands would be used to communicate versus my voice.

Below is an amazing video created by D-Pan, the Deaf Performing Network .

The Deaf do not need to change… it is the rest of the world that needs to change its perspective and to define the Deaf community the way the people in that community define themselves.

::::Update::: Video is no longer available on YouTube… go directly to Waiting on the World to Change

Leave a Reply

