Reel of Life

4 Oct

When I first moved to Israel… I couldn’t wait to make new friends. Hear why they chose to make aliyah and move to Israel. Met lots of interesting people with individual stories and I loved the exploration period.

Fast forward to three plus years and I am so bored. I have met recently new and interesting people but on the whole it feels like nothing has changed in the past three years.

Yesterday and today was Simchat Torah – a day in which all the singles come out of the woodwork in Israel and make their way to Jerusalem to celebrate the holiday but mainly to socialize with the opposite sex.

And I was bored! Bored at the synagogues, bored at the parties and the big lunch bbq. Not from my friends – but from life. It just feels like my experiences keep on repeating themselves and the reel of life is just on a closed loop.

I am getting antsy – as I have been for the past six months. Now I finally understand how those die-hard Jerusalemites move to Tel Aviv.

Maybe its time for a six month travel period? But why do I feel the need to distance myself from my every day life and have a “limited” vacation? Why can’t change occur here in Jerusalem? Why do I feel the need to run somewhere else so that I can come back here and feel like its new again?

and why are there NO apartments for rent in this city? Maybe a change of location would do me good- if only I could find somewhere to move!

4 Responses to “Reel of Life”

  1. Ehav Ever October 6, 2007 at 8:33 pm #

    When I made Aliyah a few months ago I was amazed at how fast apartments go out here. I heard it is really tough in Jerusalem. A lot of my friends end up going to the states around this time of year, and looking at your post I now see why they do.

  2. Avram October 7, 2007 at 8:41 pm #

    why don’t you take a 1 mth ‘vacation’ in tel aviv?could this also relate to not having a job that you go to every day etc? Like a ‘comforting’ routine most of us yearn for

  3. eliesheva October 8, 2007 at 1:55 pm #

    I’m 100% with you… I’m trapped in that debate all the time.

  4. Noodles October 14, 2007 at 10:41 am #

    I hear ya! Sometimes all you need is a new hobby… bringing in new dynamics to the regular

Leave a Reply

