The opposite of loneliness, it’s not togetherness. It is intimacy.

17 Oct

I am a huge fan of Richard Bach who wrote “Every person, all the events of your life, are there because you have drawn them there. What you choose to do with them is up to you.”

I have been in a very profound depression over the past few months. I know why I am depressed but until yesterday was unsure of what could be done to change it. My fears from past friendships & relationships have kept me frozen in small area. I wanted so badly to jump out of it but until now was to afraid to do so.

I forgot how wonderful it is to share and bond with someone else. To release our
burdens of feeling all alone and with no one to share “me” with.

I have found very few people in my life I can totally share my fears with. I hate depending on others for things that I think are in my hands. Yet it is such a relief to verbalize thoughts/feelings instead of keeping them all inside.

I guess what has been missing in my life is true intimacy. For a long time I thought I was craving a relationship but in reality I was craving true intimacy that can be shared with only a select few.

“The opposite of loneliness, it’s not togetherness. It is intimacy.”
Richard Bach.

2 Responses to “The opposite of loneliness, it’s not togetherness. It is intimacy.”

  1. Cosmo Girl October 18, 2007 at 10:20 pm #

    I relate completely…and I am counting down the days til I next see you. I love you sooooo much. Beautifully written post xx

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Challenges of Intimacy in a Relationship | Carrybeans - July 28, 2017

    […] The opposite of loneliness is not togetherness, it’s intimacy – says Richard Bach. […]

Leave a Reply

