Please oh please let me pay!

27 Nov

Yesterday I was sitting with Kfir Pravda and we were venting our frustrations on watching TV here in Israel. I am a firm believer of behaving in an ethical and moral manner.

The conversation veered towards NBC and other sites that do not allow non-US residents access to their TV sites that show previous TV episodes.

I am willing to pay a monthly fee for internet access to these sites. I have no desire to steal from them and I would even (gasp) endure 1 minute commercials to view the shows and allow them to generate advertising revenue.

Kfir wrote “I love to watch Heroes, Weeds, The Wire, and Prison Break. I don’t care about the zillion channels offered by the local cable companies. No, not even the Turkish, Kurdish and Russian ones. They have a VOD platform, but they still want me to pay for additional 73 channels, when I just want to watch my favorite shows. My local provider asks me for more than 50$ per month to access this content legally.

I am willing to pay for my favorite shows – 10$ per month, as long as I can do it in a simple way (Amazon style). I also don’t have any problem to download it to my computer or watch it online. “

I agree with him and say AMEN to that!!! Why block off an entire audience willing to not only pay for content but also view commercials? Where is the industry’s sense in blocking a captured and paying audience?

C’mon NBC, ABC, FOX, HBO and Showtime! Let us help you make money and give us the content we so desperately wish to have !!

3 Responses to “Please oh please let me pay!”

  1. Anonymous November 27, 2007 at 10:00 pm #

    Watch all your fav US programs herehttp://www.watchtvsitcoms.com/for FREE

  2. IsraLuv November 27, 2007 at 10:13 pm #

    i want to be able to watch my tv shows on my TV… no buffering.. no streaming… and not have to search the web for a site that has my shows. let me just subscribe to the US TV channel and i’ll be much more happier.

  3. Noah D. Roth November 27, 2007 at 11:02 pm #

    Sorry, luv (pun intended), you dropped the ball on this one. 40% of network revenue comes from re-selling their IP content to foreign distributors and cable/satellite providers. Cable operators don’t pay for content their users already saw for free.If the networks make it available outside the US on a VOD basis, they will get paid for *ACTUAL* viewership instead of being paid by foreign distributors for their *ENTIRE* subscriber base irrespective of viewership.

Leave a Reply

