Would you like a 1, 2, 3 or 4 Cut of Meat?

29 Nov

I came across a blog posting today about something I never ever thought about.

The way the cuts of meat are labeled here – as it is in numerical order (?!)

I realize it has taken me over THREE years of living here to learn about this. Why three years? Because I don’t (gasp) know how to cook red meat and I prefer (louder gasp) to eat out.

What can I say? I know I can cook (and cook well thank you very much) but until recently I was not a red meat eater. Now I love my steak….. medium rare please!

So if I decide to learn how to cook red meat I now know what to ask for… 1, 2, 3 ……

Meat Cuts Explained (thank you by Gila at Israel Easy)

Help to clear up a bit of the mystery of meat here:

#1 Entrecote, Steak Ayin, Vered Hatzela
steaks and roast beef, suitable for roasting and grilling.
U.S.-rib
U.K.- forerib.

#2 Rifaan, Tzlaot
suitable for slow-roasting, e.g. pot roast, goulash and braising.
U.S. and U.K.-chuck or blade

#3 Brust, Chazeh
the favorite cut for salt/corned beef
Cheap, lean and delicious after being roasted in a slow oven for a few hours
U.S and U.K -brisket or front poitrine.

#4 Katef, Katef Mercazi
pot roast and braising
U.S. and U.K.-rib or back rib

#5 Tzli, Tzli Katef
pot roast, cooking in sauce, slow roasting

#6 Falshe, Fillet Medumeh
braising, pot roast, cooking in sauce, slow roasting

#7 Polo, Shrir Hazroa, Shrir
for goulash, soup, cholent; with a bone -osso bucco
Top rib

#9 Shpundra, Kashtit
cholent, goulash and soup; with a bone – assado and spare ribs
aka: flank, short plate.

#10 Tzavar
soup and grinding

#11 Sinta, Moten
Roast beef and steaks
suitable for roasting and grilling
U.S. and U.K.-sirloin or porterhouse

#12 Fillet
Steaks and carpaccio
suitable for roasting and grilling

#13 Shaitel, Kanaf Haoketz
shnitzel, steak, skewering and oven roasting.
suitable for roasting and grilling.
U.S. -round, U.K. – rump

#14 Katchke, Ozit
Braising, goulash, pot roast and grinding.

#15 Chuck, Yarcha
Braising

#16 Kaf
Braising, steak, shnitzel and roast.

#17 Plada, Kislayim
Rolada, goulash and grinding

#18 Poli, Shrir Achori
goulash, soup and cholent

#19 Weisbraten, Rosh Yarcha
Braising

6 Responses to “Would you like a 1, 2, 3 or 4 Cut of Meat?”

  1. Ehav Ever December 2, 2007 at 4:36 am #

    Wow, I haven’t even gotten to the point of picking the meat cuts yet. I simply get the packages of meat and call it a day. I figure I will get the intestinal fortitude to go the Schohet directly soon.

  2. eliesheva December 2, 2007 at 12:04 pm #

    Ha, I was JUST talking about this with someone and wanted to post about it… Thanks…

  3. gila January 30, 2008 at 12:45 am #

    And a #8- i discovered is a Shoulder Calachel, good for roasting. gila at http://israeleasy.blogspot.com

  4. plr_rbs March 12, 2008 at 5:20 pm #

    HI!I don’t know anything about the hind quarter, however, I would like to make a couple of corrections to your numbering and comparison to American cuts. #4 is an American silver tip/ shoulder roast, great for Roast beef.#5 – is the minute steak roast, which sliced give you minute steaks, also good for pepper steak. If you split it at the grissle, and remove it, you can prepare it like a london broil – it’s great (takes some experience with handling a good knife).#7 in Hebrew ‘michseh hatzela” is the top of the rib, similar in cut to the brisket.#8 is the shrir hazroah – in America also known as shoulder calachel.

  5. Akiva Homnick March 10, 2015 at 6:27 pm #

    #7 is michseh hatzela (located under #1 vered hatzela). The correct number for shrir hazroa is #8.

    • Heather Weinstock March 15, 2016 at 6:37 pm #

      Wait, I am confused! What is shrir hazroah in US beef?

Leave a Reply

