SKA Class of 1998 …. fast forward 10 years

20 Jan

I graduated high school ten years ago. I cannot believe it will be ten years in June and on the other hand I am so thankful that part of my life is far far in my past. I knew back then that I would survive the trauma of high school and move past it all.

Move past the trauma of not fitting in the second graduating class of Stella K. Abraham . Move past the trauma of being in a class of super overachievers when I was a super underachiever. Move past the trauma of wonderful classmates who I just couldn’t relate to. Move past feeling like I could never measure up to my peers. Move past the trauma of not understanding myself enough. Move past my inability to communicate my thoughts and feelings.

I fought my way through high school tooth and nail and I survived. More importantly I survived the trauma of being ME from ages 15-18 years old. Trust me -that makes me a real survivor.

And last night I had to go back in time and face those traumatic feelings. It was great seeing all my old classmates and friends from different classes who live in Israel. I just never counted on those old feelings resurfacing and making me feel like I was back to being 16 years old.

But I confronted my old high school self and emerged victorious. I love my life – every single aspect of it. I love that I can see the growth of self. And I love that I don’t feel the need to be apologetic for the choices I have made in my life.

So thank you SKA for teaching me how to be a survivor.

3 Responses to “SKA Class of 1998 …. fast forward 10 years”

  1. ifyouwillit... January 21, 2008 at 2:32 pm #

    You’re one of the strongest people I know – and if that came from SKA, it did a great job.

  2. elie January 21, 2008 at 9:28 pm #

    Glad to read it.

  3. RaggedyMom January 28, 2008 at 8:15 pm #

    It was a tough, tough place at times. Even communists like me 😉 had to find our place, both during high school and post-high school. You’ve come into your own in a way that many of those “overachievers” may still not have done, and it is, thankfully, closed chapter!

Leave a Reply

