Memories from the Kitchen

27 Feb

This morning as I peeled the sweet potatoes for the chicken soup I started to reminiscence about growing up and learning how to do things in the kitchen. We all take for granted that we know how to peel, chop, dice, grate and measure ingredients. Today I decided to take a walk down memory lane and remember what it was like to learn how to perform the simple kitchen tasks.

I remember learning how to peel vegetables over the garbage can and how accomplished I felt when I removed all of the outside peel.

I remember learning how to cut up tomatoes and cucumbers for salad

I remember being taught how to wash dishes and how the rubber gloves were wayyyy too big on my hands.

I have memories of my sister not being allowed to pour the Tropicana orange juice because she always spilled and made a mess when she poured.

All those little skills my mother taught me over the years impacts me (obviously) today. But sometimes you need to go down memory lane and remember the childish delight of learning a new skill that made you feel “all grown up”.

Leave a Reply

