Learned Something New About Myself Today

22 Jan

I have been playing volleyball for about 15 years now. And I love playing. I even coached my old high school team during college before I transfered to Boston.

But for some reason, I couldn’t serve overhand. No matter how much I tried, I just couldn’t connect the ball and my hand at the right angle to go over the net. I found it incredibly frustrating.

Today we changed the time for volleyball (from 2pm to 11am) and for a while it was just me and the organizer of the volleyball game, Rob.

So we were volleying the ball back and forth. I gave him some tips to better control the ball (no fists!) and he in turn urged me to practice my overhead serve.

Sigh.

“But I can’t” I said. I’ve been trying for 15 years and I just cannot do it. Plus my other serve is a killer.

“Do it Berger!”

And so I tried. And I tried. and then a light bulb went off in my head and I switched the ball to my other hand. I threw it up in the air and POW, the ball went over the net.

I am ambidextrous in sports – and most of the time I favor my right hand (I am a leftie) but for some reason in volleyball I was trying to hit the ball with my left hand.

The minute I switched to hitting the ball with my right hand, bam bam bam the balls just kept flying over the net.

That is, until I got tired of playing in the sun after 3 hours.  Needed fuel to continue but I forgot my banana at home and so it was time to call it a day.

Until next week.

Related Posts:  Beach Volleyball, in December

Leave a Reply

