Reflection – 12 years in Israel

14 Jul

pexels-photo-59519

12 years ago I boarded a Nefesh B’Nefesh plane to move across the world and make Israel my home.

Here are some of my thoughts from the past 12 years:

  1. It was the best decision I ever made – and I knew it the day I moved here and feel the same way 12 years later.
  2. My local political views have changed *drastically* over the years. I went from the far right all the way to the center/left. Life and experiences change you. Living here changes you.
  3. Moving here has not changed my core values. However, I do see many more shades of color instead of black/white/grey.
  4. I still cannot express myself in Hebrew with the same comfort and ease as I do in English. I don’t think this will ever change and I have come to accept it.
  5. I met some incredible people who I am honored to call my friends. Some are olim like me, others are native Israelis. Some stayed, some left and wherever we are, the bond is forever.
  6. I stopped being an American consumer. I took a few years – and I am so much happier this way. Yes, I miss the crazy sales in the US but I also appreciate what I have and what I can afford.
  7. You can be fiscally responsible living in Israel – as long as you learn to live within your means and redefine “needs” vs “wants”.
  8. Socialized medicine has been a godsend.
  9. I now wish we could separate Church and State.
  10. My food consumption has drastically changed.  I no longer eat a big dinner but rather a modest lunch. I buy my vegetables and fruits from local farmers, on their farms. Nothing I eat has corn in it.
  11. My career took a serendipitous turn shortly after I arrived and I never looked back. But boy am I thankful that I was given a chance. Thank you Sheri.
  12. Most importantly, I met and married the man of my dreams.

To the next 12 years and beyond.

Leave a Reply

