What Kind of Sabra Do I Want To Be?

11 Dec

Last night a touchy subject came up with my husband as we were going to bed. It had to do with turning “Israeli” and he asked me not to become “that kind” of sabra.  The kind that would call the municipality to have the car towed instead of dialing the cell phone number written in the note that said “sorry-i couldn’t find a parking spot in the neighborhood last night so just call  me and i’ll move the car :)”   This story happened to a friend of mine. She woke one morning to a car blocking her car  with that exact note which annoyingly ended with a smily face. She called the municipality and had it towed at the owner’s expense. She did not call the car owner and ask them to move it.

And I 100% agree with her actions.

You see, in my mind “that sabra” is the kind that believes rules do not apply. The kind that feel that even if they get punished for breaking the law/rules.. it is not their fault. The kind that rant and rave and cry and say how unfair it is.

Israel has a major problem – too many of its citizens feel that rules do not apply to them. The rules apply to “everyone else”.  You can see this across the board in the corporate and political world. Read the newspapers and there is no question that this is one of the many things that plagues our young(ish) country. I feel strongly that rules/laws are in place for a reason and they apply to everyone. You don’t like the rules, then figure out a way to change them But if you break it, you get punished. I watch parents talk and threaten their children to behave. I  am constantly shocked when the parents never follow through when their kids disregard the directions. It is no wonder we live in a country where most feel that there is no reason to follow the rules. They aren’t taught hard lines as kids… so of course as adults this is going to continue.

And you know what I told my husband? That I never EVER want to become “that Israeli”. The kind that believes rules do not apply to them. I will do my damnest to change “that kind” of sabra into a better kind.

One call to the municipality at a time.

3 Responses to “What Kind of Sabra Do I Want To Be?”

  1. Liz December 11, 2012 at 9:57 pm #

    ah, yes. I hear you. I tell myself as an immigrant, I brought some my assets and my downsides here. some people will see my assets as such and some will cringe. whatever. immigrants to any country have what to offer to make it better (or worse). it’s in the eye of the beholder, perhaps… but bottom line – we have a right to have a hand in the country’s evolution.

  2. yaelbeeri December 11, 2012 at 10:06 pm #

    Two things:
    To be fair on your husband, I know he meant it from a whole different perspective….
    As for the kids, there are a few kinds of rules. You have to understand the purpose of the “rule”. Sometimes, it is no longer valid, some rules can apply only in some cases. For example, for me, not touching the electricity socket is a rule, one that I will not change my mind about. But not having a piece of chocolate at night, I might break that one from time to time.

    • Ahuvah December 12, 2012 at 10:08 am #

      I am not really sure what my husband meant by his comment.. I interpreted as being that if you are the kind of person to call 106 to tow a blocking car instead of calling the number, you are an asshole. And in my opinion, the person who blocked the car in is the asshole. I shouldn’t “do them a favor” by wasting my time and call them to move their car. Sorry – that does not fly with me.

      As for the parenting issue – I might not be a parent yet and have no idea how difficult it is to keep my patience but I find it incredibly harmful to a child when parents are constantly telling their kid to “you know the rules.. you cant do xyz” and the kid ignores the parent. And the parent just gives up. I feel like that is such an incredible disservice to the kids.I feel like the lack of following the rules starts in the home and it just gets worse and worse as the kids grow up and become adults. Also, lets not forget that kids notice when their parents break the rules in front of them and teaches them by example that rules just do not apply.

Leave a comment